The school currently implements the Draft Curriculum for Severe and Profound Intellectual Disabilities Grade R-5 (SID Phase) and (Lsen Phase) for learners with moderate mild intellectual challenges.

This curriculum, known as the Differentiated Curriculum and Assessment Policy Statement, is aligned with the Curriculum and Assessment Policy Statement (grades R – 5), however the emphasis is placed on acquiring skills, and to a lesser extent, theoretical content. High, but realist expectations are set for the learners with a severe intellectual disability to strive towards becoming independent.  

Our teaching methods accommodate the learner’s needs to ensure that successful learning and teaching takes place.

Different learners have different skills, knowledge and abilities. Our instruction makes provision for the development levels of the learners, their varied interests, language proficiency, readiness to learn, and diverse backgrounds and skills.

Curriculum differentiation involves:

  • Modifying
  • Changing
  • Adapting
  • Varying
  • Extending
  • Teaching Strategies, Assessment and the Content of the Curriculum.

The three core subjects from Grade R-5:

  • Home Language
  • Mathematics
  • Life Skills which includes Creative Arts – Physical Education

From the age of 14 years (Grade 4) the following subjects are introduced:

  • First Additional Language
  • Natural Sciences and – 3 or 4 skills subjects  

Three or four of the following skills subjects are chosen:

  • Agricultural Studies
  • Ancillary Health Care
  • Art and Crafts
  • Beauty and Nail Technology
  • Bricklaying and Plastering
  • Consumer Studies Food Production
  • Consumer Studies Sewing
  • Hospitality Studies
  • Maintenance
  • Motor Mechanics
  • Office Administration
  • Plumbing 
  • Welding
  • Woodworking and Timber